Summer Fun

I read a great post on a new blog that is fantastic, Missional Motherhood. I know almost all the contributing writers and must say, it is “the dream team.” I look up to each of these women in how they walk with the Lord, then shower their love of Him onto all those they are around- especially their children. I hope you’ll visit it for yourself and learn from these ladies who are living life well…yet not hiding the joy, pain, or struggle that it takes to get a compliment like that.

The post, Treasure the Time, echos my prayer from yesterday. It is summer and we have kicked it off right around here. We had a backyard splash party for Trey’s birthday on Saturday and have been on the boat or swimming in the lake every day since. We’ve barely left the house, spent time in the sun, and best of all- just been together. The laughter has been at an all-time high and this is how I want this summer to go.

fam in the lake

So, as Tuesday hit after the long weekend, I decided I needed to pray that I didn’t fall into my own routine. I didn’t want to fall victim to the TV or computer. I wanted to stay balanced in my day between quality time with the kids and getting things done around the house…oh, if you could see the laundry pile!

The result: the kids got all their beds made before our outing, we went to Barnes and Noble (just in time to miss the story time we had rushed to get to!), we read our OWN story, had an impromptu spiritual conversation with Trey, discovered all the different types of books at the store, had a money lesson (the kids were limited to making a choice based on the amount they had brought), had lunch with Hayden, the kids tried sushi for the first time, painted, practiced writing our letters (Haley learned cursive), found a new creative writing app that helped us tell super-silly stories, cooked dinner, the kids played well together, went up and down the street on Trey’s new scooter, and I even went and exercised! After typing this out, I can’t believe we did all this in one day. And the kitchen was clean when I went to bed!

Listing all those “things” makes me feel accomplished, but if you want to know what will make me work hard to have another day like that, it is the notes of affirmation from Haley, the snuggles from Avery, and how Trey feels so close to me that he won’t leave my side. Keeping the real focus on my real job is already making a difference and it’s only been a few days. This is the mom I want to be…the listener, playful, teacher, present, and adventurous. Since I know this isn’t how I naturally am, I am so pleased to have the strength and selfless nature of God in me to pull from. We all have this strength as a resource…all we have to do is turn to it and pull from it through prayer. It is so simple, why is it so hard to remember sometimes??

I know that getting my focus right before starting my day was the key to this success. I don’t think I can do it “right” like this every day, but I’ll take the victory when I can.

“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us – whatever we ask – we know that we have what we asked of him” 1 John 5:14-15

Leave a Reply

